Environmentally Sensitive Area (ESA) Board


The purpose of the ESA board is to promote public health, safety, and general welfare to ensure the protection of environmentally sensitive areas such that development and certain allowed disturbances are performed to avoid or minimize adverse impacts within the ESA to the maximum extent practicable.

Composition and Terms

The Environmentally Sensitive Area Review Board shall consist of five (5) residents of Nueces, San Patricio, or Aransas counties and appointed by the city council. Terms are two (2) years.


Meetings of the board are held at the call of the presiding officer and at other times as determined by the board. (When meetings are scheduled, they will be held on the 4th Tuesday)

MemberTerm Expires
Wanese Butler, Chairperson09/01/2025
Marcy Gandara, Vice Chair09/01/2025
Rickie Kilgore09/01/2024
Dennis Peacock09/01/2024
William Averbach09/01/2025
Alexander Pikas (Alternate Member)09/01/2024